Task Forces

In addition to the Working Groups there are also several Task Forces that operate within the framework of the Arctic Council. The Task Forces are appointed at the Ministerial meetings to work on specific issues for a limited amount of time. The Task Forces are active until they have produced the desired results, at which point they become inactive. Experts from the Working Groups and representatives from the member states take part in the Task Forces.


Collections of this Community

Now showing 1 - 8 of 8
  • Scientific Cooperation Task Force (SCTF)
    SCTF will work towards an arrangement on improved scientific research cooperation among the eight Arctic States. It had its first meeting in December 2013 and will report to Ministerial Meeting in 2015. The Task Force is co-chaired by Russia, Sweden and the United States.
  • Task Force on Arctic Marine Cooperation (TFAMC)
    At the Arctic Council Ministerial Meeting in Iqaluit 24 April 2015 a Task Force on Arctic Marine Cooperation was formed. The mandate is to consider future needs for strengthened cooperation on Arctic marine areas, as well as mechanisms to meet these needs, and to made recommendations on the nature and scope of any such mechanisms.
  • Task Force on Arctic Marine Oil Pollution Prevention (TFOPP)
    The main tasks of TFOPP are to identify how best the Arctic Council can contribute to marine oil pollution prevention in the Arctic, to recommend a concrete plan of action, and, as appropriate, to develop cooperative arrangements to implement the Action Plan. TFOPP held its first two meetings in Oslo, Norway and Reykjavik, Iceland in 2014. It will deliver its recommendations to the Ministerial Meeting in 2015, although a renewal of its mandate is possible. Norway and Russia are co-chairing the Task Force.
  • Task Force on Black Carbon and Methane (TFBCM)
    The mandate of the TFBCM is to develop arrangements on actions to achieve enhanced black carbon and methane emission reductions in the Arctic. The Task Force had its first meeting in September 2013 and will report to the Ministerial Meeting in 2015. Canada and Sweden are the chairs of TFBCM.
  • Task Force On Improved Connectivity In The Arctic (TFICA)
    The Task Force on Improved Connectivity in the Arctic (Task Force) started its work in Helsinki in November 2017
  • Task Force on Search and Rescue (TFSR)
    The Task Force on Search and Rescue received its mandate in the Tromsø Declaration on the occasion of the Sixth Ministerial Meeting of the Arctic Council in April 2009 in Tromsø (Norway), where the ministers approved “the establishment of a task force to develop and complete negotiation by the next Ministerial meeting in 2011 of an international instrument on cooperation on search and rescue operations in the Arctic”.
  • Task Force on Short-Lived Climate Forcers
    The task force was established with the 2009 Tromsø Declaration and focused initially on black carbon. The Task Force was requested to continue its work on short lived climate forcers and focused on methane and tropospheric ozone, as well as further black carbon work where necessary and provided a report to the Ministerial Meeting in 2013.
  • Telecommunications Infrastructure in the Arctic (TFTIA)
    The Task Force on Telecommunications Infrastructure in the Arctic (TFTIA) was established by Ministers of the Arctic Council States at the Iqaluit 2015 Ministerial meeting. The Task Force, co-chaired by Norway and the Kingdom of Denmark, has the mandate to “…develop a circumpolar infrastructure assessment as a first step in exploring ways to improve telecommunications in the Arctic”. The Task Force is charged to report to Ministers in 2017.