IPS is a support secretariat for the six indigenous organisations that have Permanent Participant status in the Arctic Council: Aleut International Association, Arctic Athabaskan Council, Gwich’in Council International, Inuit Circumpolar Council, Russian Association of Indigenous Peoples of the North, and the Saami Council. According to the founding document of the Arctic Council – called the Ottawa Declaration – Permanent Participants have the right to “active participation and full consultation” at all levels of the Arctic Council.

Website: https://www.arcticpeoples.com

Recent Submissions